Phoenix Laboratory Consulting, LLC Louisville, KY · Est. 2014 CLIA · CAP · NYSDOH CLEP Updated September 2026

Regulatory change notice

New York clinical laboratory regulations changed on 2 September 2026

Part 19 was repealed. The single Certificate of Qualification is now two certificates. Nine sections of Subpart 58-1 were rewritten at the same time, including the entire record and specimen retention schedule. All of it is already in force.

Verified 3 September 2026 against the adopted rule text, with two points confirmed in writing by the Department on 4 September 2026 · Effective date 2 September 2026 · 10 NYCRR Subpart 58-1 (amended) and Subpart 58-6 (new)

The Department of Health adopted these rules without a single change from the proposed text. Every response in both Assessments of Public Comment reads “No changes to the proposed regulation.” If you read the proposals in January and assumed the final version would be softer, it is not.

One certificate became two

The legacy Certificate of Qualification no longer exists as a single credential.

Laboratory Director Certificate

Covers the laboratory as a whole and is no longer category-specific. Valid two years. Once you hold one, apply for the next term no later than 60 days before expiration. 58-6.2

Technical Director Certificate

Held per permit category, and a laboratory must now have one or more technical directors certified in every category on its permit. Valid two years. Once held, apply for the next term no later than 45 days before expiration — not 60. 58-6.4, 58-1.1(a)(1)(ii)

Before you diary anything

Whatever you hold now, your first filing under the new system is an initial application, not a renewal. The Department's response to comment is explicit: “Certificates issued under the current regulations will not be renewed upon adoption of these proposed regulations; all applications will be considered as initial applications.” The 60-day and 45-day windows govern from the second cycle onward.

Check this one

The Department's Certificate of Qualification webpage states “approximately 60 days” for both renewals. The adopted regulation says 60 days for laboratory directors and 45 for technical directors. Where the two disagree, the regulation governs.

The regulation defines 26 technical director categories, each with its own training, experience and board-certification requirements. Only thirteen of those have a supplemental questionnaire posted, which is why the count on the forms page looks smaller than it is. 58-6.4(f)(1)–(26)

Dates that matter

NowBoth rules are in force. New applications use the new forms — DOH-238L for laboratory directors, a separate application for technical directors.Form numbers per CLEP transition guidance.
Before 1 Oct 2026Certificates expiring before this date must be reapplied for in the new format. A fee already submitted transfers to one certificate under the new system.CLEP transition guidance; this date is not stated in the adopted text.
Early Sept 2026The Department notified directors whose certificates expire after September 2026 and who do not meet the new requirements.CLEP transition guidance; not stated in the adopted text.
1 Jan 2027Laboratories whose director does not meet Subpart 58-6 must have transitioned to compliant leadership.58-6.2(e).
Late 2026 / early 2027The Department is implementing an electronic application process. The method of application will change; watch the CLEP certificate requirements page.Assessment of Public Comment, Subpart 58-6, response to comment 6.

The provision that is not on the website

The transition guidance describes one grandfather scenario. The regulation contains two, and the second is considerably harder.

58-6.2(e) — a legacy certificate holder who does not meet the new requirements but was serving as a laboratory director when the rule took effect may continue, but only at the laboratory where they were then employed, and only until 1 January 2027. Taking a director role at a different laboratory requires meeting the new requirements immediately.

58-6.2(f) — a legacy certificate holder who does not meet the new requirements and was not serving as a laboratory director on 2 September 2026 may not renew as a laboratory director at all. There is no transition period and no 1 January date.

Who this catches

Consultants between engagements. Semi-retired directors holding a certificate in reserve. Anyone who stepped out for a parental or medical leave, or moved to industry intending to come back. The certificate you have faithfully renewed for years may not carry you back in.

Retention schedules were rewritten

Subpart 58-1.11 was realigned to federal requirements. Some periods fell sharply. Two rose. A partial view:

Record or specimenWasNow
Tissue pathology paraffin blocks20 years2 years
Accession records7 years2 years
Reports — cytogenetics25 years10 years
Reports — tissue pathology and cytopathology20 years10 years
Reports — all others7 years2 years
Cytopathology slides7 yrs abnormal / 3 yrs normal5 years, all
Worksheets; temperature and humidity records1 year2 years
Off-site record storage permitted after2 years6 months
Laboratory records on cytotechnologist work standards3 years6 years
Abnormal cytology case follow-up3 years10 years

Paraffin blocks dropping from twenty years to two is the change most laboratories will not believe without the citation. It is 58-1.11(d)(ii). Note also that this is not a one-directional relaxation — two cytology retention periods increased, and the longest-applicable-period rule still governs where another State or federal requirement is longer.

Changes beyond the director roles

What to do in the next thirty days

Answered by the Department

Two points could not be resolved from the published material, so I put them to the Clinical Laboratory Evaluation Program in writing. Beverly Rauch, Director of the Program, replied on 4 September 2026.

The technical director application fee is $150, the same as the laboratory director fee. It is set in statute rather than in the regulation, which is why no figure appears in Subpart 58-6.

The eight-hour-per-week floor binds laboratory directors. The definition sits at 58-1.2(c)(1), inside the laboratory director subdivision, where the amendments left it untouched; the identical wording at (l)(1) is the copy made for technical directors. A director serving the maximum five laboratories therefore owes forty hours a week on site unless the Department approves less under 58-1.2(c)(2). No form and no timetable for that request are published. Make it in writing, and address the three factors the paragraph names: (1) the number of permit categories for which the director is responsible; (2) the volume and complexity of testing at the laboratory; and (3) the laboratory's performance history at inspection and in proficiency testing.

The NYSDOH CLEP Compliance System

A 130-page manual and a 41-tab interactive workbook covering permit application, test approval, LDT submission and survey preparation across the New York permit categories — built by a contract laboratory director and CAP inspector, not a publisher. Version 1.3, incorporating the September 2026 amendments, is in preparation.

Visit the shop Consulting enquiries